Ethnological MuseumMy rating: 3.5 stars+ The newly opened museum has many beautiful works on display, covering Catalan traditions and historic craftsmanship.
- First-time visitors to Barcelona will want to see other museums before visiting this one. I can, however, recommend this for repeat customers!
Last updated: 22 Jan 2019 | Celine Mülich
Price of admission: 5 Euro, reduced price 3,50 Euro (young people in the age of 16 to 29, senior citizens over the age of 65, groups with more than 10 persons) free admission for children under the age of 16, every first Sunday of a month, every Sunday after 3:00 p.m.
How to get there: L1 (red line) + L3 (green line): Placa Espanya and from there the bus Nr. 55 to "Passeig de Santa Madrona-Museu Etnològic"
And what's there to see?
After being closed for a fairly long time, the Ethnological Museum is finally open once again. The museum concentrates on presenting the history of Catalonia and Barcelona. The permanent collection, which can be found on the first floor, shows old furniture from Catalonia, old tools from a variety of crafts, and toys.
Currently, there is also an exhibition on “The Holy, the Profane, and Celebrations”, which gives a great overview of the many, many (and sometimes unique) traditions found in Catalonia.
Another little gem is the open depot! It is located on the basement level, where the exhibits can be found in large glass cabinets. There are numerous Christian figurines, pots and jars and glass art, but collector’s items from Bali, too, or ebony and jade art from China.
Current Exhibition: The sacred, the profane and the festive without ending date
Photogallery of the Etnological Museum
A history of the Ethnological Museum
In the early 20th century, two institutes were founded in order to explore the cultural, social, and economic backgrounds of different societies: the “Museum of Industry and Art Trade” (in 1942), and the “Ethnological and Colonial Museum” (in 1949). In 1962, these two collections were initially combined, and in 1973, they moved into the current building. In 1982, the two institutions separated once more before reuniting in 1999.